&Follow SJoin OnSugar
Not sure what movie to go see? Or rent? Or order On Demand or from your NetFlix? Then come check us out! I am an avid movie-goer and renter and will be providing reviews on all the latest movies I've seen. Just remember - these are all personal opinion so don't let me persuade you away from that one movie you've been dying to see! I'm just offering a little help and guidance!

Sometimes I'll also throw in a little random treat, such as a book review, video game review, website review, etc.!

Feel free to post your own reviews! And spread the word!

What Happens in Vegas (contains a spoiler if you don't know how the typical romantic comedy ends)

Posted By marseilles rose on Aug 31, 2008 at 12:03PM

What Happens in Vegas starring Cameron Diaz and Ashton Kutcher, was a hilarious romantic comedy. That movie definitely has the potential to be a regular on TBS in a few years. It's always refreshing to see a married couple making each other miserable to get 3 million dollars. You don't see that every day. And I'm sure everyone knows how this one ends. They gradually fell in love. Ashton Kutcher looked hot as usual and Cameron Diaz was... well Cameron Diaz. They have great onscreen chemistry. There were no special features on the DVD which was a bummer but the movie itself was entertaining enough. I recommend this movie for date night.

Tagged with: what happens in vegas

The Other Bolelyn Girl (contains like one spoiler)

Posted By marseilles rose on Aug 21, 2008 at 3:59PM

I had mixed emotions about this movie. At first I thought it was pretty cut-throat between these two sisters. And I thought it was funny because I have a brother and I can't say it ever gets that intense between us but we're always competing against each other for like everything so I kind of knew where they were coming from. And no offense to the Eric Bana lovers out there, but they could've picked a much better person to play King Henry the eight (forgot what the numerals were). He did good acting wise, but I just don't find him attractive at all (clean shaven or not) and they should've gotten someone a little more attractive. Concerning the other actors, I think they all did a very good job (especially my sweetie Jim Sturgess). The only thing that I was really sad about (and sorry for spoiling but I feel compelled to point this out) George Bolelyn dying. I didn't know the original story that happened in history. The only knowledge I had of any of this was the five episodes of The Tudors I watched. And I only watched those because Jonathan Rhys-Meyers was playing King Henry the eighth. So I was pretty shocked of the George thing because he didn't do anything! He just had the most nosy wife in the entire universe. Thinking of doing something and doing it are two completely different things. And if you haven't a clue what I'm talking about than rent the DVD because beside that little part the movie itself is an interesting story.

Tagged with: the other bolelyn girl

Fool's Gold

Posted By marseilles rose on Jul 20, 2008 at 5:39PM

Fool's Gold was the ultimate adventure/romantic comedy. Matthew McCaughoney and Kate Hudson were great together in this movie and I hadn't seen Alexis Dziena in a movie since that Lifetime flick She's Too Young, so it was nice to see her playing a bimbo. Personally, I didn't really like Matty's long hair look. He looked like a poodle! But his natural hotness still shined through and that's the important thing. And the palm tree necklace that Kate (or Tess) is wearing in the movie I actually have! So it was nice to see a piece of my jewelery on the big screen! I'd most definitely put it on your Netflix queue if you love a good adventure!

Tagged with: Fools gold

Welcome Home Roscoe Jenkins

Posted By marseilles rose on Jul 13, 2008 at 2:37PM

This was a very funny movie. It had a lot of my favorite comedians which was a treat for me. It's one of those movies that if you've had a long stressful day, you pop in this movie and instantaneously cheer you up. But there are a lot of movies like this. So choosing this movie will be up to you to decide!

The Invasion

Posted By marseilles rose on Jun 22, 2008 at 4:44PM

Has anyone ever read the novel The Bodysnatchers? That's what they say this movie is based on and I am considering reading it if I can find it. I'm guessing that type of book would be considered Sci-fi/Horror. That's what the movie is pretty much. I thought that The Invasion was also a movie that kept my interest, but then again don't all thrillers? Nicole Kidman most definitely played her part in this movie as always and the special effects made the people in affect of having their emotional expressions taken away from them in their sleep look especially gross. I would recommend this movie to thriller lovers because it's really not that much of a horror movie. If it were I most definitely would not have watched it.

Tagged with: the invasion

P.S. I Love You

Posted By marseilles rose on May 19, 2008 at 1:24PM

I saw P.S. I Love You on Saturday and I just have to say first hand that Gerard Butler is the hottest Irish guy (sorry Jonathan Rhys-Meyers!) I've ever seen. And not just because of his accent. Okay maybe a little. It was a very funny but emotional movie. I wouldn't quite call it a drama/comedy though. My friend called it a cutesy type movie but if you've ever lost someone you really loved you'd relate to this movie. I know it won't be nominated for an Oscar or anything but it's worth seeing so go see it!

Tagged with: PS I Love You

27 Dresses

Posted By marseilles rose on May 3, 2008 at 10:54AM

27 Dresses was a very "charming" romantic comedy. When I read that i was thinking that's a load of crap because they said that about Dan in Real Life and that movie kinda sucked. I consider a movie that can't hold my attention for more than five seconds sucky. But I have to say that 27 Dresses actually was a charming romantic comedy. It was really funny and kind of reminded me of The Wedding Planner. Even though James Marsden is hot he can't compare with Matthew McConaughney (is that how you spell it?). The dresses were quite hideous. But what can you expect of bridesmaid dresses! It's a really good movie and it's so going on the Movies I like list!

Tagged with: 27 Dresses

Movie - Dragon Wars

Posted By Schaianne on Sep 18, 2007 at 5:57PM

Dragon WarsDragon Wars
Don't waste your money! This movie is filled with bad acting, cheesy lines, flimsy plot, and merely OK CGI. Within the first 20 minutes, hubby and I became bored.

This is supposed to be the Korean legend of how a dragon becomes a dragon. A huge serpent who has been chosen has to swallow the essence of a chosen female on her 20th birthday, basically. Dragons, what dragons? You don't get to SEE a dragon until the last few minutes of the film. You get to see a whole lot of a evil serpent laying waste to the city while he's searching for the chosen girl to steal her essence before she can give it to the good, chosen serpent. Of course, as fast as he is, he can't catch up to these 2 clumsy humans running away from him ... because they outwit him. Riiiiggghhhttt.

Oh yeah, a whole army of bad guys and critters ... lots of fighting and things blowing up.

In one scene, the "hero" of the movie gets shot ... moments later, he's standing up and FINE. Also, at the end of the movie, he is hurt in the leg ... in the final scenes, he's not even limping. Did I mention bad acting?

You've heard the term "B" flick? Well, this doesn't even qualify for the rating B ... I'd term it a "C" flick. I can't believe it went into the theaters and didn't stay on Sci-Fi channel or something.

Tagged with: movie reviews


Posted By xxbrittney on Jul 5, 2007 at 12:54AM

Ahhhh! I was SO excited for this movie! If you don't know the story of the Transformers than that's okay! The movie does a great job of explaining everything. The movie follows after a war between the Autobots (the good robots) and the Decepticons (the bad robots). A cube that is able to create life, is lost by the robots and winds up on Earth, causing both groups to come to Earth to get it. The Decepticons make the first contact with humans, causing all sorts of damage and causalities because they have no regard for humans, they just want the cube. The Autobots realize that the cube needs to be destroyed and that the humans need defense from the Decepticons. Sam Witwhicky (Shia LaBeouf) purchases a car, which turns out to be the first Autobot that has landed on Earth. By the time he learns what they are, that they're good guys, and what they're after, the Decepticons learn that Sam is a link to where they can find the cube (which, of course, Sam is unaware of). While the government works to figure out what the Decepticons are and how to defeat them, Sam works with the Autobots on how to find the cube and stop the Decepticons from destroying Earth. The graphics in this movie are incredible and each of the Autobots has their own distinct personality. There's also good amounts of comedy in the movie which make it an easier watch considering it's 2 hours and 45 minutes long. There are some parts of the movie that could have easily been cut out (too much emotional character development) and sometimes during the fight scenes, it's hard to see what's going on (like what one robot is doing to the other and who's parts belong to who and such) but those minor things still don't stop the movie from being mind-blowing. I saw a decent amount of people leaving the theater while I was in there because, like I said, it's long and does feel like it's dragging through certain parts, but trust me, STAY! The end like 45 minutes of the movie is the best part! I absolutely recommend seeing this, but I also recommend that you buy your tickets in advance and get there early to make sure you get seats!

Ghost Rider

Posted By xxbrittney on Jul 5, 2007 at 12:40AM

This is one of the old comic books that I actually never read or followed, which is I guess why I waited for this movie to come out of theaters to see it. The movie is about Johnny Blaze (Nicholas Cage) and what happens when he sells his soul to the Devil. There's lots of back-story behind the legend of the Ghost Rider and more on Johnny Blaze's life and why he does what he does. The movie takes a little while to progress into the actual 'Ghost Rider' section, but then develops a so-so plot line about a contract of souls and those who are trying to get a hold of it and why. I was really impressed with the graphics, the comedy was okay, and the plot was as good as it gets for a comic book based movie. Even though Nicholas Cage and Eva Mendes (she plays his love interest in the movie) are both great actors, I thought the acting in the movie was like cheesy I guess. I think this is one of those movies that younger boys would find interesting or cool but overall, I wasn't very impressed.